DI vs FTIR

This has been discussed a million or so times, but I had to make the choice for myself. I chose DI for a number of reason:

  • Fewer people do DI then FTIR, and I like being different
  • It allows for more detailed recognition of objects
  • It requires fewer materials
  • It allows me to use glass as a touch surface

I plan on being able to recognize objects by either putting unique patterns on the bottom, or by having a separate camera that could read colored tags on the bottom.

Here are some drawings that give some good insight into how each one works:

FTIR

DI

These are not my images and must be accredited to the original author. For a more in depth look at the technical aspects of DI vs FTIR see here.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

